2019 Awards from the Society of Professional Journalists and the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association


This year, Trinitonian won 4 Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) Mark of Excellence awards in our region and 12 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) awards and for small schools (1–9,999 students).

SPJ Mark of Excellence

The Society of Professional Journalists honors the best in student journalism with their annual Mark of Excellence awards. The awards offer categories for print, radio, television and online collegiate journalism.

Logan Crews ’23: Finalist in Feature Writing for “Is ethical consumption possible?

Jolie Francis ’21: Finalist in General News Reporting for Trinity’s deep roots in fossil fuels

Kathleen Creedon ’20: Finalist in Editorial Writing

Kara Killinger ’20: 1st Place in Feature Writing for Giving voices to survivors: Coalition for Sexual Justice brings the Clothesline Project to campus


TIPA is one of the nation’s oldest and largest collegiate press associations. TIPA holds contests in general magazine, radio, television, online, two divisions of yearbook, literary magazine and six divisions of newspaper.

Dominic Anthony ’20: 1st Place in Breaking News for “Trinity proposes updates to drug policy

Kathleen Creedon ’20: 2nd Place in Breaking News for “Dicke-Smith in deep water

Jolie Francis ’21: 1st Place in News Stories for Trinity’s deep roots in fossil fuels

Jolie Francis ’21: 3rd Place in News Stories for “Student complaints spark Sobering Unit concerns

Megan Flores ’22: 1st Place in Sports Game Stories for Men’s Soccer registers historic win

Gabriella Garriga ’21: 2nd Place in In-Depth Reporting for Exploring Trinity’s harassment & assault policies

Logan Crews ’23: 2nd Place in Feature Stories for “Is ethical consumption possible?

Ben Gonzalez ’20: 2nd Place in General Columns for “Fundraising isn’t fun when it exploits staff and students

Ben Gonzalez ’20: 3rd Place in Sports Columns for “Flag football, failure and a free T-shirt

Oliver Chapin-Eiserloh ’22: 1st Place in Environmental Portraits

Andrea Nebhut ’20: 3rd Place in Illustrations

Natasha Sahu ’20 and Kayla Padilla ’21: Honorable Mention in General Columns for “Drowning out the white noise to make our own

And a special congratulations to Brian Yancelson ’23, who received a scholarship from SPJ for the 2020–2021 school year.